Sketchbook – Project Green Part 2 : Playtime!!!

Standard

Whilst working on the colour section of my OCA course, I discovered an intense dislike for the colour green. I don’t usually include green in my paintings, or in my sewing activities by choice so I decided to force myself to give it more of a try.

This week my art class was all about trying trying out different mediums, so to embrace the colour green I went with an Ultramarine Blue and Cadmium Yellow in watercolour, acrylic and oil paint, which of course combine to make green.watercolour

Now in all three of these I did all of my colour mixing on the paper. I started off with watercolour, which didn’t mix well on the paper to produce green, the blue is a very strong colour so I found that areas that appeared green when wet tended to turn a lot more blue as they dried, so I think we have to write this one off as an experiment in green and I’ll have to try again another day! It does still demonstrate some overlapping and blending of different colours though, and a few different techniques for applying the paint.oil

The second medium I tried was oil paint, this had to be my favorite to work with – it was like painting with soft butter, so smooth and silky feeling. It was brilliant for creating brush marks and drag lines, and also mixed really well on the paper to produce a deep lustrous green. I enjoyed the depth of colour in these paints, in comparison the watercolours seem weak and washed-out. The major down side to oil paints though is that they take forever to dry, and once they get on your skin they quickly become body temperature so you can’t feel they are there – this resulted in me having a nice blue arm even though I’d repeatedly been warned by my tutor!acyrlic

The final medium I tried was acrylic paint. In many ways this seems a lot like oil paints to work with, although it dries much much quicker – sometimes so quickly it dries before you’ve finished what you’re doing with it! It mixed extremely well on the paper to easily produce a wide range of greens. You can use it to create nice textured brush marks when applied thickly like oil paint, or apply pale watery washes like watercolour. As it becomes waterproof when dry I think it would be interesting to overlap different layers of watercolour-style washes to see what affects could be created, maybe with some dry brushing over the top too. Acrylic paints don’t have the same beautiful luster as oil’s, but I think the quick drying time is such an advantage that I would choose to use them for further work.

Now which colour’s to try playing with next?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Project 3 Colour : Stage 3 Recording colours accurately | It's Sew Immaterial

Leave a Reply

