Handstitched Class

Standard
Handstitched Class

After taking a break for a rather hectic holiday season, I’m finally back into indulging in a good old bit of sewing! One of the presents I received for Christmas was the rather lovely Renfrew top pattern from Sewaholic, I’ve already made a couple of different tops from this pattern and its fab! It’s so simple to make and only takes a couple of hours from start to finish – it takes me longer to cut out the pieces than to sew them all up!

This is my second attempt at the top, and it fits pretty well, it looks a bit crumpled and dirty here and that’s because of another brilliant Christmas present I received.

I’m so excited about this class, it’s really really fun! All the green reverse appliqué on my Renfrew top above are part of the first project on the course, it was so quick and simple to do, I could really see myself doing this to a lot more of my clothes!

The next project was this lovely quilt block to be the centre of a handstitched quilt, the mitred corners were quite tricky as I’ve never attempted then before, but then I guess that’s the whole point of the class – learning new skills. I’m using Anna Maria Horner’s Field Study fabric, I love the colours!

My final project from the first week was a needle book, it’s mostly handstitched using wool felt and perle cotton, this had to be my favorite project, it was so quick and simple to make, and sitting doing a bit of running stitch while the kids played was very relaxing.

I can’t wait to get stuck into next weeks projects!

Linking up with finish it up friday over at crazy mom quilts.

One response »

Leave a Reply

