Jesus must have been on my side – or at least my mother-in-law!

Standard
Jesus must have been on my side – or at least my mother-in-law!

This morning I thought a small miracle had happened…

Yes, that’s the baby asleep in his seat! “How fantastic!” I thought. My big monkey was happily playing trains, so I tidied away all the remnants of breakfast off the kitchen table, whipped my iron out, quickly pressed and pinned the hem of my baby t-shirt, and dragged my sewing machine out of its cupboard. After all that brilliant progress it then took me another 10 minutes of faffing, turning the machine upside down, and reading the instructions to work out that the double needle setting is in fact a special needle, and not just a matter of putting a second needle somewhere in the machine. It was ok though, the baby was still asleep, he hadn’t even moved a muscle. Thinking he may be down for the long run (he has managed 2 hours in that chair before), I pressed my foot down on the peddle… Only for the first rattle of my sewing machine to jolt him wide awake!

Much screaming then ensued, followed by repeated feedings and nappy changes, and even a stint in the baby wrap, but he would absolutely not entertain the idea of any more sewing. Typical!

However, later on, the in-laws descended on us and success, the baby was kept occupied for an hour!

Yes that says “I’ve found Jesus, he was behind the couch!”, I’m sure that gives you an idea of my husbands sense of humour! It may not be perfect, and still needs washing and pressing, but for my first attempt I’m quite proud! So more recycling, jersey sewing, and baby clothes, here I come! I’m also linking up with Crazy Mom Quilts: Finish it up Friday!

5 responses »

  1. Love the T-shirt, and I can fully sympathise with the evaporation of sewing time due to small but persistent demands!! I’m hoping that my little one has just gone to sleep.

  2. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

